ORANGE COUNTY KI SOCIETY

Special Events

In addition to our regularly scheduled classes, the Northwest Ki Federation and the Orange County Ki Society conduct a number of special training events in the course of the year.

Most of our federation-level events are held at our headquarters training center in Portland, Oregon. Click here to see more about this fine facility.

See our full calendar of special events by clicking here.

January, 2020

Dojo Cleanup and Potluck
Friday, January 3
5:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Our annual dojo clean up will start at 5:00pm. A potluck will follow at about 6:30pm. Come join us!

Misogi & Pancakes
Sunday, January 12
6:30 am - 9:30 am
Annual New Year's training. Water misogi at Dana Point Harbor (Baby Beach), followed by a bell misogi at the dojo, then to the Original Pancake House for breakfast. All members welcome.

February, 2020

Ukemi Workshop (Portland)
Saturday, February 8
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Instructors Workshop (Portland)
Sunday, February 9
10:30 am - 4:00 pm

The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata Sensei. Regular Sunday Ki class 11am-12pm.

Kiatsu Seminar (Portland)
Friday, February 21 - Saturday, February 22
6:30 pm on Friday to 4:00 pm on Saturday

Kiatsu Seminar will take place Friday evening and all day Saturday. Advanced Ki-Aikido students and instructors (brown and black belts) and graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are invited to attend the Saturday session.

Kiatsu Graduates Seminar (Portland)
Sunday, February 23
9:00 am - 4:00 pm

Graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are also welcome to attend the Saturday session of Kiatsu Seminar.

April, 2020

Ki & Kiatsu Workshop
Wednesday, April 8
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
An opportunity to train with Calvin Tabata Sensei.

Ki & Aikido Workshop
Thursday, April 9
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
An opportunity to train with Calvin Tabata Sensei.

Children's Aikido Workshop
Friday, April 10
5:45 pm - 7:30 pm
An opportunity to train with Calvin Tabata Sensei.

Advanced Aikido
Friday, April 10
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
An opportunity to train with Calvin Tabata Sensei.

Spring Camp (Portland)
Saturday, April 25 - Sunday, April 26
All day

One of two annual opportunities to train Aikido intensively, Spring camp is open to all current students.

May, 2020

Children's Aikido Weekend
Saturday, May 2 - Sunday, May 3
All day
The annual kids' weekend with Brenda Tam Sensei, featuring lots of training and activities for members of the children's program.

Kiatsu Seminar (Portland)
Friday, May 15 - Saturday, May 16
6:30 pm on Friday to 4:00 pm on Saturday

Kiatsu Seminar will take place Friday evening and all day Saturday. Advanced Ki-Aikido students and instructors (brown and black belts) and graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are invited to attend the Saturday session.

Kiatsu Graduates Seminar (Portland)
Sunday, May 17
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are also welcome to attend the Saturday session of Kiatsu Seminar

June, 2020

Shinichi Sensei Visit/Seminar (Portland)
Friday, June 19 - Sunday, June 21
All day
A celebration of the 50th anniversary of Aikido in Oregon featuring a workshop taught by Shinichi Tohei Sensei and other events.

Shinichi Sensei Visit/Seminar (Vancouver BC)
Saturday, June 27 - Sunday, June 28
All day
A workshop taught by Shinichi Tohei Sensei and other events.

July, 2020

Kiatsu Seminar (Portland)
Friday, July 24 - Saturday, July 25
6:30 pm on Friday to 4:00 pm on Saturday

Kiatsu Seminar will take place Friday evening and all day Saturday. Advanced Ki-Aikido students and instructors (brown and black belts) and graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are invited to attend the Saturday session.

Kiatsu Graduates Seminar (Portland)
Sunday, July 26
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are also welcome to attend the Saturday session of Kiatsu Seminar.

August, 2020

Instructors Workshop (Portland)
Sunday, August 16
10:30 am - 4:00 pm

The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata Sensei. Regular Sunday Ki class 11am-12pm.

October, 2020

Instructors Workshop
Sunday, October 11
10:30 am - 4:00 pm

The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata Sensei. Regular Sunday Ki class 11am-12pm.

Kiatsu Seminar (Portland)
Friday, October 23 - Saturday, October 24
6:30 pm on Friday to 4:00 pm on Saturday

Kiatsu Seminar will take place Friday evening and all day Saturday. Advanced Ki-Aikido students and instructors (brown and black belts) and graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are invited to attend the Saturday session.

Kiatsu Graduates Seminar (Portland)
Sunday, October 25
9:00 am - 4:00 pm

Graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are also welcome to attend the Saturday session of Kiatsu Seminar.

Tohei Sensei's 100th Birthday (Japan)
Thursday, October 29 - Sunday, November 1
All day

November, 2020

Fall Camp (Portland)
Saturday, November 21 - Sunday, November 22
All day

One of two annual opportunities to train Aikido intensively, Fall camp is open to all current students.

December, 2020

Management Conference (Portland)
Sunday, December 6
9:00 am - 1:00 pm
All dojo officers and instructors are invited to attend. There will be no regular Sunday class.